Error output in txt file

Questions and answers on how to get the most out of FFAStrans
Larsdp

Error output in txt file

Post by Larsdp »

Hi,

Newbie here. Trying to figure out a way to write out errors in a text file. Now i use the conditional node but how do i specify the exact error that the worflow fails on and pass that error out in the text file? My solution would be to only include one operation pr conditional like comparing framerate and if it fails it'll write out an txt with a framerate error. But if i had several errors it would only write out the first one and the node tree is going to be really long.

So checking a file for the right codec, framerate, bitrate etc and passing all the errors out in a txt file is what i want to do.

emcodem

Re: Error output in txt file

Post by emcodem »

Hey Larsdp,
welcome to the forum and thank you for using ffastrans!

What you can do is to set your text file processor to execute "on error" instead of success (rightclick the input pin) - connect all your conditionals to this text proc.
The content of the text proc is just %s_error% in this case.

Lemme know if it works for you!
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
Larsdp

Post by Larsdp »

Hi!
Thanks, it works but the error message is not that user friendly. I'm gettin "Conditional@Desktop: 1st evalutation of " = OP1a is " = OP1a"

Now i'm inputing a mp4 so my goal if possible is to write something out like, "wrong file container, wrong frame rate etc" like all erros in one txt file.
But maybe the point is that i have to write all the checks out into seperate nodes (one node for framerate etc)and then the workflow stops when a condition is not met?
emcodem

Post by emcodem »

Hm, i'd probably try to save nodes,, try this wofklow and let me know any questions :D

In the first populate proc, i do one check per line like this:

%i_width% = 720 ? "" : "Video Width error, actual width %i_width%"