Upload to Goofile

Questions and answers on how to get the most out of FFAStrans
taurojo

Upload to Goofile

Post by taurojo »

Regards,

I'm sharing a small Python script in this post that's very, very useful for uploading converted files to Goofile. I hope it serves you well in your projects. If you know of any way to integrate this type of script into the FFSTRANS workflow, please comment. Greetings to everyone and congratulations to the creators of this software.

https://github.com/taurojo/gofileFFASTRANS
emcodem

Re: Upload to Goofile

Post by emcodem »

taurojo,

your message really hits me in a very positive way, mostly because you show initiative but also because you use github and share your stuff (welcome to the open source community my friend). Because of this, i will support you with all that i can give.

Of course as a professional programmer i have several comments to your script but i'll limit it to the most important:
  • you should not store the name of your smtp server in a public open source script
  • the script does far too much for being used in ffastrans, e.g. we have email, logging and error handling already
  • in order to avoid the need of installing python in production on ffastrans host AND to share your stuff with other users, you can use e.g. auto-py-to-exe and check "one file" to create a single exe file that executes your final script standalone

Here is my version and a test workflow that uploads the file and retrieves the link into a user_variable so it can be further in the workflow in emails, log files or whatever you want to do.
Changes to your script:
  • removed logging because we have it in ffastrans
  • removed email and related commandline params because we have it in ffastrans
  • removed error handling because we have it in ffastrans