Webinterface

Questions and answers on how to get the most out of FFAStrans
mrazik
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 9:48 pm

Re: Webinterface

Post by mrazik »

Hi @emcodem,

the metrics are awesome!

Can you please share the settings for the data source in Grafana?

Cheers,
mrazik
FFAStrans 1.2.2
Webinterface 1.2.0.4
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Intel Xeon CPU E5-1620 v3 @ 3.5GHz
8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K620
256GB SSD
1GB NIC
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Windows 10 Pro 64b
emcodem
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Webinterface

Post by emcodem »

Hey @mrazik
nice to know that i didnt do the metrics for nothing :D

Not sure what you want to know, maybe it's best if you just check it out yourself.

Code: Select all

Webinterface\tools\install_metrics_server.bat
This will install grafana and prometheus services locally, preconfigured with my stuff. (service name will always start with ffastrans*)

Prometheus config:

Code: Select all

Webinterface\tools\prometheus\prometheus.yml
By default only this is enabled

Code: Select all

- targets: ['localhost:3003']
So this brings the data from ffastrans into prometheus.

Then you open grafana on localhost:3004 (user and pw is "admin) and you can check out how i did setup the ffastrans dashboard.

Further optional config:
Install the prometheus "windows exporter"

Code: Select all

Webinterface\tools\iinstall_metrics_clients.bat
And alter the last line in prometheus.yml

Code: Select all

- targets: ['localhost:9182','localhost:3003']
Then you have the cpu, network and disk stuff as well as ffastrans data.

I hope this gives you all infos you need?
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
mrazik
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 9:48 pm

Re: Webinterface

Post by mrazik »

Hi @emcodem,

you are the best!!!! Working like a charm!

Thank you!
FFAStrans 1.2.2
Webinterface 1.2.0.4
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Intel Xeon CPU E5-1620 v3 @ 3.5GHz
8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K620
256GB SSD
1GB NIC
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Windows 10 Pro 64b
mrazik
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 9:48 pm

Re: Webinterface

Post by mrazik »

Hi @emcodem,

I think there is an issue in metrics, as "Queued" shows always zero.

Also would be awesome to have also "Error" metrics ;)

Cheers,
mrazik
FFAStrans 1.2.2
Webinterface 1.2.0.4
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Intel Xeon CPU E5-1620 v3 @ 3.5GHz
8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K620
256GB SSD
1GB NIC
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Windows 10 Pro 64b
emcodem
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Webinterface

Post by emcodem »

@mrazik
well queued might always be zero because you dont have any queued jobs? :D Only manual submitted and API submitted jobs can actually really raise the queued count. Watchfolders basically inly raise the incoming count... Might that be your problem?
Sure Error metrics will be working soon :D
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
mrazik
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 9:48 pm

Re: Webinterface

Post by mrazik »

Hi @emcodem,

all jobs are manually started, queued shown correctly in webinterface, but not in metrics....
metrics.png
metrics.png (22.69 KiB) Viewed 6295 times
mrazik
FFAStrans 1.2.2
Webinterface 1.2.0.4
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Intel Xeon CPU E5-1620 v3 @ 3.5GHz
8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K620
256GB SSD
1GB NIC
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Windows 10 Pro 64b
emcodem
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Webinterface

Post by emcodem »

hmmm interesting that should be already working i guess, will repair (or ask in case i cannot reproduce ^^)
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
Noqras
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 4:32 am

Re: Webinterface

Post by Noqras »

Hello,

Trying the latest version of the Webinterface 1.2.0.2. This is on a Windows 2008 R2 box for my farm environment. Trying to run server.exe Node.js is only supported on Windows 8.1 or Windows server 2012 r2 or higher and it says I could try setting NODE_SKIP_PLATFORM_CHECK to 1 to skip the check, not quite sure where that is yet.

I'm also having difficulty running the service installer from a UNC path where my FFAStrans runs from for the farm due to possibly command prompt not allowing UNC path as the current directoy.

What's the best way to run this on Windows 7/Server 2008 R2? Also, any tips on the UNC path?
FFAStrans 1.2.0
HP DL360p Gen8 - 2x Intel Xeon E5-2670 - 32GB RAM
2x HP SL230s
Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 64-bit
emcodem
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Webinterface

Post by emcodem »

Hey @Noqras

ok so the bad news is that i stay on the latest nodejs for many reasons and nodejs don't want to support server 2008 or win7 in recent versions. Also i don't have any test box with the outdated OS anymore.
From a quick research, it looks like nodejs supported win7 and co. in version <14. If you really must get this working, i could guide you how to try to build your own server.exe from source but honestly i personally don't want to officially support outdated OS versions too. It would be kind of misleading for users because it would make the impression that it's kind of OK to keep on runing those old Windows versions while it is in fact kind of a huge security issue.

However, you will always receive help from me (until the problem is solved, no matter how long it takes) if you ask in this forum and keep working with me, it is just in this case i will not present the final solution ready to use but require a little personal engagement from you.
Lemme know your thougts please.

About UNC path, what you see should just be a warning but it should still work after all. But after all the webinterface is a little different to ffastrans, it is not really designed to run from UNC share but from a local location instead. However, from experience it should be just a warning that you see but it should not influence operation at all.
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
Noqras
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 4:32 am

Re: Webinterface

Post by Noqras »

@emcodem

Well that is certainly understandable. At this point my encoding farm is basically dedicated to FFAStrans anyway so I might as well upgrade to Windows server 2012 R2 or possibly even Windows 10, I'll probably be heading that route with this.

Thanks for the help on the UNC path as well.
FFAStrans 1.2.0
HP DL360p Gen8 - 2x Intel Xeon E5-2670 - 32GB RAM
2x HP SL230s
Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 64-bit
Post Reply