Custom FFMpeg

Questions and answers on how to get the most out of FFAStrans
Post Reply
brobert
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:13 am

Custom FFMpeg

Post by brobert »

Dear All,

I don't have real knowledge of ffmpeg or video transcoding in general, so this might be an obvious question, sorry.

I have a Sony Ipela security cam, its software creates .cam files which are some h264 streams. My goal is to create a low bandwith version of each recorded clip. I'll save both the original and the transcoded files to a could, but because the original .cam files are 720p/8Mbit and players have issues with them, a lowbandwith, easy-to-play version is needed. Basically when I get a notification from the cam, that something happened, I could go to the could storage and play back the video in a browser. Should there be a request for the original file, it's also available.

Did some research and found below ffmpeg command on this site:
https://spreadys.wordpress.com/2014/06/ ... le-player/

ffmpeg -f h264 -i yourfile.cam -c:v copy -fflags genpts yournewfile.mkv

This command creates an mkv, which I can playback with anything I tried, so one problem solved, next step would be to make it smaller.

My problem is, that I don't know how to make from this ffmpeg command a working encoder in FFAStrans?
Tried to enter it the best way I could, but it didn't work (attached).

Could you please help?
cam2mkv.png
cam2mkv.png (11.51 KiB) Viewed 10460 times
Many thanks,
Robert
brobert
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:13 am

Re: Custom FFMpeg

Post by brobert »

2 more things:
- changed the Video Codec to h264, but still doesn't work.
- the error i get: No audio or video found in media

I hope this helps,
Robert
ThomasM
Site Admin
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:36 am

Re: Custom FFMpeg

Post by ThomasM »

Hi,

did you try the A/V-Media-Node? this decodes nearly everything. If no sound is needed, turn off audio.

Then add your node, (I guess the bandwith is still high with 4000-setting)

Then add delivery node set to a folder you want.

Hope it helps...

tom
brobert
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:13 am

Re: Custom FFMpeg

Post by brobert »

Thank you for the tip, but it failed to recognise the content.

I think the way to go would be to get that ffmpeg command work. Yes, that 4Mbit is to much to be the low-bandwidth version, but if I could repack the original video track into an mkv, I'd store that (since it can be played with everything) and with another step I'd convert the mkv into an mp4 with something around 1Mbit.

So. I have an ffmpeg command, that can do the repack. How should I setup the Custom FFMpeg node?

ffmpeg -f h264 -i yourfile.cam -c:v copy -fflags genpts yournewfile.mkv


Many thanks,
Rob
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Custom FFMpeg

Post by admin »

Hi Robert, thank you for using FFAStrans and welcome to the forum! :-)

The first thing you need to make sure is that your ffmpeg command works from a dos command. Also, you must be aware one thing regarding the "Custom FFmpeg" encoder: You can NOT specify options before "-i". FFAStrans does this:

ffmpeg.exe -i "%s_source%" <your command and options are inserted here> -y "output.<your extension>"

If you need to use options before the input "-i", like "-f h264 -i ...", then you must use the "Command executor"-node to create a completely custom ffmpeg command:

%comspec% /c ""%s_ffmpeg%" -f h264 -i "%s_source%" -c:v copy -fflags genpts "%s_original_path%\%s_original_name%.mkv""

This command will execute FFAStrans own ffmpeg executable and use the input delivered to the "Command executor"-node as the source. The ouput will be in the same folder with the same base name as the original source by utilizing the "%s_original_path%" and "%s_original_name%" variables. Be aware of the encapsulation quotes (")

Hope this helps.

-steinar
Post Reply