Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Questions and answers on how to get the most out of FFAStrans
graham728
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 pm

Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by graham728 »

Hi,

I currently have the below workflow:

Watchfolder > Remove first 40 Seconds (input file is 45 seconds) > Encode to AVI Uncompressed >5 second file is placed in folder > Hold waits for this file before sending the input file to > AV Media > Insert Media (uses 5 second file above) > Encode to ProRes > Deliver.

Everything goes fine until after the 'Insert Media' Node. I've tried the AVC-Intra and ProRes encoder after the insert media and I get a 'Job Ended in Error AV Source couldn't located a decompressor for fourcc Y42B.

The plan for the above workflow is to add an extra 5 seconds onto the end of the input file. The Input file has a 5 second freeze on the end. I need to extend this to ten seconds.
Capture.PNG
Thanks.
Last edited by graham728 on Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by admin »

Hi Graham,

The best thing to do would be to export your workflow as xml and post it. It's easier to see what's actually going on than just a screen-grab. Anyway, what is your "Uncompressed" video settings?

-steinar
graham728
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by graham728 »

Thanks, I've attached the XML as requested. I've used uncompressed as I'm sure the 'Insert Media' only works with .avi video files?
emcodem
Posts: 1811
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by emcodem »

Hey Graham,
i think you are on the right path about your avi file not being compatible to the insert media processor, can you try to encode the avi using this ffmpeg cmd:

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -loop 1 -i PATH_TO_INPUT_PNG -t 1  -vf scale=720:576 -pix_fmt rgb32 -c:a pcm_s24le -c:v rawvideo -map 0 c:tempout.avi
cheers,
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
graham728
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by graham728 »

Hi,

Thanks. I've changed the script to the below:
ffmpeg -loop 1 -i \\PQCRNAS1\FFastTrans\test\%s_original_name%.%s_original_ext% -t 1 -vf scale=720:576 -pix_fmt rgb32 -c:a pcm_s24le -c:v rawvideo -map 0 c:tempout.avi


I'm getting an encoding fail of 'No video or audio found in media'
emcodem
Posts: 1811
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by emcodem »

Hey graham,

to be clear, the ffmpeg cmd i sent is only used to create the avi file shich you specify in the "Insert Media" node. It is not part of your workflow but only used once instead.
Can you check if the produced .avi file that you use in the Insert Media node plays using VLC or so?

cheers,
H
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
graham728
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by graham728 »

Hi,

The uncompressed AVI file created for the insert plays back with VLC just fine.

The input file for the workflow is AVC-Intra100 MXF files.

I've since tried the DV/DVCPRO which allows for AVI wrapped files and got the same error message after the 'Insert Media' node. So when the Insert Media node passes the file to the next encoder I get the below message:

H.264 / AVISource: couldn't locate a decompressor for fourcc dvsd
emcodem
Posts: 1811
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by emcodem »

hm, the specified video codec in my ffmpeg cmd is rawvideo, therefore the error message you write: "couldn't locate a decompressor for fourcc dvsd" does not really fit here...
are you sure you did load the correct avi file in the insert media node?
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
graham728
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by graham728 »

Hi,

I tried the custom line but got the same message or thereabouts. Although you've stated it shouldn't be part of my workflow? I would require the process to be automated so that the avi encoder writes the avi as the same file name as the source so that 'Insert Media' looks for source name and attaches that file onto the end.

Thanks,
graham728
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Insert Media (Y42B Error)

Post by graham728 »

I've managed to 90% fix this by using 'stills' to take a snapshot of the endboard instead of creating an AVI file. The insert media node works fine with the PNG... although, the PNG is RGB and there is a noticeable drop-off when the video ends and the png begins. I've tried using the colour conversion, although this only appears to work with AV media.
Post Reply