Page 23 of 40
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2021 6:22 am
by mrazik
Hi @emcodem,
the metrics are awesome!
Can you please share the settings for the data source in Grafana?
Cheers,
mrazik
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2021 10:24 am
by emcodem
Hey @mrazik
nice to know that i didnt do the metrics for nothing
Not sure what you want to know, maybe it's best if you just check it out yourself.
Code: Select all
Webinterface\tools\install_metrics_server.bat
This will install grafana and prometheus services locally, preconfigured with my stuff. (service name will always start with ffastrans*)
Prometheus config:
Code: Select all
Webinterface\tools\prometheus\prometheus.yml
By default only this is enabled
So this brings the data from ffastrans into prometheus.
Then you open grafana on localhost:3004 (user and pw is "admin) and you can check out how i did setup the ffastrans dashboard.
Further optional config:
Install the prometheus "windows exporter"
Code: Select all
Webinterface\tools\iinstall_metrics_clients.bat
And alter the last line in prometheus.yml
Code: Select all
- targets: ['localhost:9182','localhost:3003']
Then you have the cpu, network and disk stuff as well as ffastrans data.
I hope this gives you all infos you need?
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2021 12:22 pm
by mrazik
Hi @emcodem,
you are the best!!!! Working like a charm!
Thank you!
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Sat May 08, 2021 10:25 pm
by mrazik
Hi @emcodem,
I think there is an issue in metrics, as "Queued" shows always zero.
Also would be awesome to have also "Error" metrics
Cheers,
mrazik
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Mon May 10, 2021 6:46 am
by emcodem
@mrazik
well queued might always be zero because you dont have any queued jobs?
Only manual submitted and API submitted jobs can actually really raise the queued count. Watchfolders basically inly raise the incoming count... Might that be your problem?
Sure Error metrics will be working soon
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Mon May 10, 2021 7:09 am
by mrazik
Hi @emcodem,
all jobs are manually started, queued shown correctly in webinterface, but not in metrics....
- metrics.png (22.69 KiB) Viewed 8463 times
mrazik
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Mon May 10, 2021 8:12 pm
by emcodem
hmmm interesting that should be already working i guess, will repair (or ask in case i cannot reproduce ^^)
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Sun May 16, 2021 5:02 am
by Noqras
Hello,
Trying the latest version of the Webinterface 1.2.0.2. This is on a Windows 2008 R2 box for my farm environment. Trying to run server.exe Node.js is only supported on Windows 8.1 or Windows server 2012 r2 or higher and it says I could try setting NODE_SKIP_PLATFORM_CHECK to 1 to skip the check, not quite sure where that is yet.
I'm also having difficulty running the service installer from a UNC path where my FFAStrans runs from for the farm due to possibly command prompt not allowing UNC path as the current directoy.
What's the best way to run this on Windows 7/Server 2008 R2? Also, any tips on the UNC path?
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Mon May 17, 2021 5:08 pm
by emcodem
Hey @Noqras
ok so the bad news is that i stay on the latest nodejs for many reasons and nodejs don't want to support server 2008 or win7 in recent versions. Also i don't have any test box with the outdated OS anymore.
From a quick research, it looks like nodejs supported win7 and co. in version <14. If you really must get this working, i could guide you how to try to build your own server.exe from source but honestly i personally don't want to officially support outdated OS versions too. It would be kind of misleading for users because it would make the impression that it's kind of OK to keep on runing those old Windows versions while it is in fact kind of a huge security issue.
However, you will always receive help from me (until the problem is solved, no matter how long it takes) if you ask in this forum and keep working with me, it is just in this case i will not present the final solution ready to use but require a little personal engagement from you.
Lemme know your thougts please.
About UNC path, what you see should just be a warning but it should still work after all. But after all the webinterface is a little different to ffastrans, it is not really designed to run from UNC share but from a local location instead. However, from experience it should be just a warning that you see but it should not influence operation at all.
Re: Webinterface
Posted: Thu May 20, 2021 3:38 am
by Noqras
@emcodem
Well that is certainly understandable. At this point my encoding farm is basically dedicated to FFAStrans anyway so I might as well upgrade to Windows server 2012 R2 or possibly even Windows 10, I'll probably be heading that route with this.
Thanks for the help on the UNC path as well.