Integer Variables formatting

Questions and answers on how to get the most out of FFAStrans
Post Reply
VooDooDaddy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:00 pm

Integer Variables formatting

Post by VooDooDaddy »

I am trying to create workflows from a single watch folder so that our media team can drop videos and the workflow determines resolution of source and which formats/resolutions to transcode into. I've read through the help several times but I'm not finding any clear examples on how to format variables or how to place multiple variables on a single line.

I've verified that my source media contains Frame Width and Frame Height metadata in the file properties.

My current workflow works properly with no variables (It will transcode 4:3 video into 16:9 and upscale 1280x720 into 1920x1080, I'd like to put a little more intelligence behind the workflow)

I've tried the following under Accept files:

%i_width% = "1920"
%i_width% = 1920
%i_width%="1920"
%i_width%=1920

"%i_width% = "1920"" "%i_height% = "1280"" (including all variations from above)
%i_width% = "1920";%i_height% = "1280" (including all variations from above)
%i_width% = "1920",%i_height% = "1280" (including all variations from above)


TLDR
1. How do I format integer variables
2. How do I place more than one variable in a line


Thank you for your help in advance
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Integer Variables formatting

Post by admin »

Hi VooDooDaddy, thank you for using FFAStrans and welcome to the forum! :-)

It seems you're using variables completely wrong. You cannot evaluate variables like that. Also, you cannot use media variables in the monitors because there are no media variables populated with data yet. The monitors does not do any media analysing because it's not obvious that all workflows deals with media. Although FFAStrans is media centric it can be used for many different file automation tasks ;-)

To evaluate variables you must add a "Conditional" node after the monitor:
2016-04-19 (1).png
2016-04-19 (1).png (15.78 KiB) Viewed 7533 times
Then you can add the required nodes to process files that pass the conditional test.

Does this help?

-steipal
VooDooDaddy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:00 pm

Re: Integer Variables formatting

Post by VooDooDaddy »

Thanks for the insight, this explains a lot. I believe I have what I need to finish my workflows. Your assistance and your application are both greatly appreciated!
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Integer Variables formatting

Post by admin »

That's great :-) Good luck!

-steipal
Post Reply