Page 1 of 1

Populate variable from XML file

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:53 pm
by scharette
Hi Steipal,

First of all, thank you for your hard work on your software, it's very helpful for me everyday !

I'm trying to populate a variable from a XML file that come with the video file and I can't figure this out. Here's is the string I've used :
$stripws($between("%s_original_name%.evs.xml", "<XT_IN_TC_str>", "</XT_IN_TC_str>"))
When I use a external file, I can't seem to get it working.

If I put the content of the XML file in the string like this :
$stripws($between("<XT_IN_TC_str>01:00:00;00 </XT_IN_TC_str>", "<XT_IN_TC_str>", "</XT_IN_TC_str>"))
It work great.

I've also tried to put the path directly in the string, but I can't seem to make it work.
When you have a chance, if you could help me on this one,

Thanks again !

Re: Populate variable from XML file

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:37 am
by admin
Hi scharette,

The $between() function takes a string, it does not read a file just because the string might also be a file name. Please take a look at the $read() function which will read the file into a user variable. F.ex: $read("%s_original_path%\s_original_name%.evs.xml")

-steinar

Re: Populate variable from XML file

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:36 pm
by scharette
Awesome, got it working, thanks for your help !

Now, the only thing I was wondering about, is there a way for the folder monitor to ignore his history ? What I'm trying to do is, when a file is transcoded, I want to delete the original file, but, It might happen that another file with the exact same name show up again and now it's being ignored because I thing it's in the folder history,

Thanks !

Re: Populate variable from XML file

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:26 pm
by momocampo
Hi,
Yes, I'm agree it will be very useful to avoid this cache. The good thing would be to choose in monitor folder to to not use cache. Maybe on next version :)
Cheers

Re: Populate variable from XML file

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 6:58 am
by admin
Yes, this will be possible in the next version. It was supposed to go into the 0.9.0 release but the implementation was bad and it's now rewritten.

-steinar