Remove Start and End

Questions and answers on how to get the most out of FFAStrans
Post Reply
graham728
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 pm

Remove Start and End

Post by graham728 »

Hello,

This has kind of already been asked, although in a different context. I have transmission files that have 10 second (25fps) idents at the start and 5
second freeze/hold on the end that I want to remove with a workflow.

What would be the relevant AVI Synth script for this? I currently have the below script working to do this for 30 second commercials. Although I deal with various length commercials so if there is a script that can remove 10 seconds from the start and 5 seconds from the end regardless of the files duration that would be ideal.

I'm using the below script to remove the ident and hold from 30 second commercials.

m_clip = Trim(m_clip, 250, m_clip.framecount-1875) #25 fps
Return m_clip

The indent and hold are set values and are the same on all commercials, regards of the commercials length.


I've attached my working workflow for 30 second commercials.

Thanks in advance!
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Remove Start and End

Post by admin »

Hi graham728, thank you for using FFAStrans and welcome to the forum! :-)

I think maybe this should work:

m_clip = Trim(m_clip, 250, end=m_clip.framecount-125) #25 fps
Return m_clip


-steinar
graham728
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Remove Start and End

Post by graham728 »

Thanks for the welcome!

That has done the trick, I just processed two commercials, one being 30 seconds in duration and the other ten seconds. The workflow has removed the start ident and end hold on both files perfectly.

One additional question if that is ok? What would be the script if I just wanted to remove the ident and and ignore the end hold.

I tried the below with no success:

m_clip = Trim(m_clip, 250) #25 fps
Return m_clip

Thanks you very much for your help, and can I just say this is very impressive software, it will certainly save myself a lot of time!
graham728
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Remove Start and End

Post by graham728 »

Hi,

No worries actually I figured it out. Just changed the -125 to 0.

I've attached the workflow below if it becomes useful for anyone else.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Remove Start and End

Post by admin »

Great, nice of you to share! :-)

-steinar
Post Reply